Before continuing on with the Dhivehi lessons, you’re going to need to learn a few more words. And by “a few”, I mean around 530. To help you with this, I’ve compiled the words into groups and made little picture dictionaries:

This last one is just for fun:

You can find those same sets of words on Quizlet, where you can study them as flashcards, take tests, and even play games (I like the gravity one). I gave the words a one-to-one correspondence just to make the tests easier, but keep in mind that the words do not always have one translation.

If you want to learn more words, take a look at this dictionary. It uses Dhivehi Latin, so I would suggest reading the bit at the beginning about pronunciation. Don’t pay too much attention to verbs at this stage.

For more food words, see here (it’s Dhivehi, but there are pictures so you should be able to work out most of them. There are 6 pages in total) and here (spices with English names).

Not all words are created equal, so it should go without saying that you should put more effort into memorising the words you are more likely to use. I included the less frequently used words for the sake of completeness.

 

