Let’s start off the year with a fun post.

 

We all know that when you literally translate things from English into Dhivehi, the results are usually pretty funny. So I applied the idea to movies, and remade some posters just for a bit of fun. Enjoy!

 

 

ice-age-dhivehi

Attempting to do something like this truly makes you realise how badly we need more Thaana fonts. Luckily, I didn’t have to use the standard Comic Sans style one for any of these posters. I don’t really like the look of the remade poster here, but that was the closest I could get to the original.

 

 

star-wars-dhivehi

Yes, it’s the same font as the first one. But I think this one looks better overall.

 

 

inside-out-dhivehi

This one may be my favourite when it comes to the way it looks.

 

 

hunger-games-dhivehi

Literal translations make you realise how weird certain expressions are. Also, for some reason, translating almost anything into Dhivehi makes it lose its impact.

 

 

fifty-shades-of-grey-dhivehi

This one is my favourite when it comes to the (Dhivehi) title.

 

And finally, a Dhivehi film poster translated into English:

 

emme-fahu-vindha-jehendhen-english

 

I do have some ideas for more, but that will hopefully come in a future post.

